You are hereWho we are

Who we are

The Integrated Assessment of Geoengineering Proposals (IAGP) project is an interdisciplinary research project that has brought together a wide range of expertise, from climate modelling to philosophy and engineering to public perceptions, to situate the assessment of geoengineering within wider societal values.

The research was led by three core objectives:

  • to evaluate the effectiveness and side-effects of a broad range of geoengineering proposals
  • to evaluate the controllability of global climate using these proposals
  • to elicit and include stakeholder and public values into the evaluation

Key sub-objectives were to examine in detail the public acceptability of different geoengineering proposals and to evaluate the possibility of preventing 'tipping points' using geoengineering.

The IAGP project follows the Oxford Principles which are a proposed set of guiding principles for the governance of geoengineering research.

IAGP team

Starting in October 2010, this four-year project has involved researchers from Cardiff University, Lancaster University, Met Office, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, University of Bristol, University of East Anglia, University of Leeds and University of Oxford. More on our project partners can be found here.

The project was funded by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) and the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC), with support from Living With Environmental Change (LWEC).

IAGP Project Members

Professor Piers Forster Principal Investigator University of Leeds
Dr Naomi Vaughan Co-Investigator University of East Anglia
Professor Nick Pidgeon Co-Investigator Cardiff University
Professor Andy Ridgwell Co-Investigator University of Bristol
Professor Richard Darton Co-Investigator University of Oxford
Dr Andrew Jarvis Co-Investigator University of Lancaster
Professor Jim Haywood Co-Investigator Met Office
Dr Olivier Boucher Co-Investigator Met Office
Dr Adam Corner Researcher Cardiff University
Dr Karen Parkhill Researcher Cardiff University
Dr David Leedal Researcher Lancaster University
Dr Julia Crook Researcher University of Leeds
Dr Lawrence Jackson Researcher University of Leeds
Dr Maia Galarraga Researcher Lancaster University
Dr Michelle Felton Researcher University of Bristol
Annabel Jenkins Postgraduate Researcher University of Leeds
Ed Pitt Postgraduate Researcher University of Oxford
Sarah Jones Postgraduate Researcher University of Bristol
Rob Bellamy Affiliated Postgraduate Researcher University of East Anglia
Cat Scott Affiliated Postgraduate Researcher University of Leeds
Jayne Windeatt Affiliated Postgraduate Researcher University of Leeds
Ros McDonnell Project Administrator University of Leeds

The IAGP project has also benefitted from the advice and guidance of our valued Advisory Panel.

IAGP Advisory Panel Members

Professor Richard Owen University of Exeter
Tim Kruger The Oxford Engineering Programme
Duncan McLaren Friends of the Earth Scotland / Lancaster University
Professor Catherine Redgwell University of Oxford
Professor John Shepherd University of Southampton
Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer Heriot-Watt University

IAGP logo

Our Partners

with the support of